Rhysling Awards   <—   Other Awards   —>   Alabama-Cuba Week Conference

Locus Online


Rhysling Awards

Other Awards

Alabama-Cuba Week Conference

Writing the Other Workshop

Kir Bulychev dies

Chesley Awards
Prometheus Awards
Sidewise Awards
Gaylactic Awards
Golden Duck Awards
Heinlein Award
Cordwainer Smith Award
Aurora Awards
LA Worldcon 2006
Analog/Asimov's Party

page 3: Hugo Awards
page 2
page 1

page 5
page 4
page 3
page 2
page 1

page 6
page 5
page 4
page 3
page 2
page 1

page 3
page 2
page 1

page 8
page 7
page 6
page 5
page 4
page 3
page 2
page 1

page 1

page 3: Columbia
page 2
page 1

page 1

E-mail Locus Online


News Archives

External Links

Links Portal

Other SFFH News sites:
SF Site News
Sci-Fi Wire

Saturday 13 September 2003


Nominees for 2003 Southeastern Science Fiction Achievement Award (the SESFA) have been announced by the online magazine scifidimensions:

Best Novel of 2002
  • Chindi, Jack McDevitt (Ace)
  • Guardian, Joe Haldeman (Ace)
  • Light Music, Kathleen Ann Goonan (Eos)
  • Spaceland, Rudy Rucker (Tor)
  • Speaks the Nightbird, Robert R. McCammon (River City Publishing)
  • Best Short Fiction of 2002
  • "The Big Rock Candy Mountain", Andy Duncan (Conjunctions 39: The New Wave Fabulists, Bard College)
  • "The Cage", Jeff VanderMeer (City of Saints and Madmen hardcover edition, Prime)
  • "The Holy Bright Number", Andy Duncan (Polyphony, Wheatland Press)
  • "Mammoth Dawn", Gregory Benford (Analog, Jul/Aug 2002)
  • Lifetime Achievement in SF/F/H
  • Fred Chappell
  • L. Sprague de Camp
  • Joe Haldeman
  • DeForest Kelley
  • Voting is open, to participants who pay a $7.00 membership fee, through October 31, 2003. The winners will be announced no later than November 5, 2003.

    The SESFA Award, now in its second year, is designed to honor accomplishment in science fiction, fantasy or horror by individuals born or living in the Southern United States. Details about the SESFA can be found at http://www.scifidimensions.com/sesfa/.

    Winners of the 2003 awards presented by the Science Fiction Research Association (SFRA) include:

    Pilgrim Award
  • Gary Westfahl
  • Pioneer Award
  • "Omniphage: Rock 'n'Roll and Avant-Pop Science Fiction", Lance Olsen (Edging into the Future: Science Fiction and Contemporary Cultural Transformation, ed. by Veronica Hollinger and Joan Gordon, U of Penn Press, Philadelphia, 2002)
  • Mary Kay Bray Award
  • Farah Mendlesohn for her review of Kim Stanley Robinson's The Years of Rice and Salt
  • Clareson Award
  • Joe Sanders
  • For details about the SFRA Awards, see The Locus Index to SF Awards and SFRA Award Winners.

    Lavie Tidhar’s story "Temporal Spider, Spatial Webs" is the winner of this year’s Clarke-Bradbury International Science Fiction Competition. The competition is sponsored by the European Space Agency's (ESA) Technology Transfer and Promotion Office as part of its ongoing project ‘Innovative Technologies in Science Fiction for Space Applications’.

    The winning story, along with runners-up, will appear in an anthology based on the competition, and has sold to magazines in Spain and Israel, according to the author's website.

    For further information on the competition, see ESA Portal.

    © 2003 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. | Subscribe to Locus Magazine | E-mail Locus | Privacy | Advertise