Locus Online

page 5
page 4
page 3
page 2
page 1

E-mail Locus Online


News Log archives


Page 3: Columbia
Page 2
Page 1




External Links

Links Portal

Other SFFH News sites:
SF Site News
Sci-Fi Wire

Saturday 19 April 2003

Nebula Awards Winners
Standing: Sheila Finch with Ursula mask; Gordon Van Gelder (accepting for Carol Emshwiller); Eileen Gunn (accepting for Ursula K. Le Guin and Ted Chiang); Katherine MacLean; Neil Gaiman; Richard Chwedyk. Kneeling: Catherine Mintz (accepting for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring).

Winners of the 2002 Nebula Awards were announced at a banquet Saturday evening, April 19, in Philadelphia PA.

  • American Gods, Neil Gaiman (Eos)
  • "Bronte's Egg", Richard Chwedyk (F&SF Aug 2002)
  • "Hell Is the Absence of God", Ted Chiang (Starlight 3, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, ed., Tor)
  • "Creature", Carol Emshwiller (F&SF Oct/Nov 2002)
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, & Peter Jackson (New Line Cinema; based on the novel by J. R. R. Tolkien)
  • In addition, awards were presented, as previously announced, to Ursula K. Le Guin as Grand Master, and Katherine MacLean as Author Emeritus.

    Richard Chwedyk, Neil Gaiman, and Katherine MacLean were present to accept their awards. Harry Harrison served as Toastmaster. Phil Klass presented the Grand Master Award to Le Guin, citing her novels The Left Hand of Darkness and The Dispossessed as masterpieces. Eileen Gunn accepted, reading a funny letter from Le Guin, who is on a previously scheduled cruise through the Caribbean and the Panama Canal; she described her anticipated experience (a daiquiri in one hand and barf bag in the other), and offered some modest suggestions on how SFWA should treat Grand Masters (e.g., they should always be addressed as "Your Grandeur"). Gunn arranged for various members of the audience to hold up 'Ursula masks' on cue to represent Le Guin's presence.

    Sharon Lee presented the Author Emeritus Award to Katherine MacLean, who gave a brief acceptance speech. (There were no speeches during the evening's ceremony, by special awards winners or guests. MacLean, and toastmaster Harrison, gave speeches on Friday night.)

    Catherine Asaro led presentation of the Nebula Awards proper. Katherine MacLean stepped forward at once to read the nominees and announce the winner of the short story award. Gordon Van Gelder accepted for Emshwiller, mentioning that she had won the Philip K. Dick Award the night before (for her novel The Mount).

    Gardner Dozois presented the novelette award. Eileen Gunn accepted for Chiang, reading a brief statement in which Chiang thanked those SFWA members who voted for the stories they truly thought were the best.

    Catherine Mintz presented the award for best script, and played a video tape (with some inevitable technical difficulties) from Peter Jackson, who is on location in New Zealand finishing The Return of the King.

    Catherine Asaro thanked various members of the audience for helping put together the Nebula Awards Weekend, especially Catherine Mintz, before introducting Sheila Finch to present the novella award. Richard Chwedyk accepted his award, reading a long list of thank yous, including editor Gordon Van Gelder, and Ted Chiang, for keeping the word count down on "Hell Is the Absence of God".

    Joe Haldeman presented the final award, for best novel. He kept the audience in suspense while citing a New Scientist article about parallel worlds, suggesting that there might well be six parallel universes, one for each novel nominee in which that nominee was the winner. Then he announced the winner in this universe. Neil Gaiman, after acknowledging that he might have screwed up his Hugo Award acceptance speech, said he didn't expect to win this award either, considering the strong competition, but that even if he didn't feel he deserved to win, he wasn't giving it back.

    The evening closed with an announcement from Charles N. Brown about the establishment of the Paul G. Allen sponsored Science Fiction Experience museum in Seattle.

    The Nebula Awards are voted by members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. The final ballot for this year's awards was posted in February. The Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards lists and indexes earlier Nebula Awards results.


    The 2002 Philip K. Dick Award Winner, announced Friday evening at Norwescon 26 in SeaTac, Washington, is Carol Emshwiller's novel The Mount, published by Small Beer Press.

    A special citation was given to China Miéville for The Scar (Del Rey).

    The Philip K. Dick Award is given annually to the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time in the US. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society. The 2002 judges were Shelley Rodrigo Blanchard, Michael Blumlein, Nalo Hopkinson (chair), Donna McMahon, Lois Tilton. The 2003 judges are Stephen L. Burns, Suzy McKee Charnas, Craig Jacobsen, Richard Parks, Janine Ellen Young.

    Finalists for the award are listed here. The Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards lists and indexes earlier Philip K. Dick Award results.

    Earlier April News

    © 2003 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. | Subscribe to Locus Magazine | E-mail Locus | Privacy | Advertise