Locus Online

page 7
page 6
page 5
page 4
page 3
page 2
page 1

E-mail Locus Online


News Log archives


Page 3: Columbia
Page 2
Page 1




External Links

Links Portal

Other SFFH News sites:
SF Site News
Sci-Fi Wire

Tuesday 22 April 2003


The International Horror Guild has named author and editor Charles L. Grant as the recipient of this year's Living Legend Award. The announcement was made at the World Horror Convention in Kansas City, Missouri, on Saturday, April 19, 2003.

In addition, nominations were released for this year's International Horror Guild Awards, to recognize outstanding achievements in the field of horror and dark fantasy from the year 2002. Winners will be announced May 23. There will be no live presentation ceremony this year.

  • The Darkest Part of the Woods, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
  • Fitcher's Brides, Gregory Frost (Tor)
  • From a Buick 8, Stephen King (Scribner)
  • The Hour Before Dark, Douglas Clegg (Dorchester)
  • The Killing Kind, John Connolly (Atria)
  • A Winter Haunting, Dan Simmons (Morrow)
  • The Blues Ain't Nothing', Tina Jens (Design Image Group)
  • The Fallen, Dale Bailey (Signet)
  • The Horned Man, James Lasdun (W.W. Norton; Jonathan Cape)
  • A Scattering of Jades, Alexander C. Irvine (Forge)
  • The Snowman's Children, Glen Hirshberg (Carroll & Graf)
  • "Breathing In Faces", Peter Crowther (Embrace the Mutation)
  • Coraline, Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)
  • El Dia de los Muertos, Brian A. Hopkins (Earthling)
  • "Mr. Gaunt", John Langan (F&SF Sep 2002)
  • "My Work Is Not Yet Done", Thomas Ligotti (My Work Is Not Yet Done)
  • "Death and Suffrage", Dale Bailey (F&SF Feb 2002)
  • "A Drug on the Market", Kim Newman (Dark Terrors 6)
  • "The Essayist in the Wilderness", William Browning Spencer (F&SF May 2002)
  • "Nesting Instincts", Brian Hodge (Lies and Ugliness)
  • "Pavane for a Prince of the Air", Elizabeth Hand (Embrace the Mutation)
  • "Details", China MiÚville (Children of Cthulhu)
  • "Night Falls, Again", Michael Marshall Smith (Embrace the Mutation)
  • "Prospect Cards", Don Tumasonis (Dark Terrors 6)
  • "The Road of Pins", Caitlín R. Kiernan (Dark Terrors 6)
  • "The Sundowners", Chet Williamson (Figures in Rain)
  • 30 Days of Night (Issues #1-3), Steve Niles, story; Ben Templesmith, art; Ashley Wood, covers (IDW Publishing)
  • Abarat, Clive Barker (HarperCollins)
  • Fables (Issues #1-10), Bill Willingham (DC/Vertigo)
  • The Goon (2nd series, #1-3), Eric Powell (Albatross Exploding)
  • Mike Mignola's B.P.R.D.: Hollow Earth (Issues #1-3), Christopher Golden, Tom Sniegowski & Mike Mignola, story; Ryan Sook, art; Mike Mignola, cover (Dark Horse)
  • Strangehaven (Issue #14), Gary Spencer Millidge (Abiogenesis Press)
  • Everything's Eventual, Stephen King (Scribner)
  • Figures in Rain, Chet Williamson (Ash-Tree)
  • Imagination Box, Steve Rasnic Tem & Melanie Tem (Lone Wolf)
  • Knuckles and Tales, Nancy A. Collins (Cemetery Dance)
  • Lies and Ugliness, Brian Hodge (Night Shade)
  • My Work Is Not Yet Done, Thomas Ligotti (Mythos)
  • The Book of More Flesh, James Lowder, ed. (Eden Studios)
  • Dark Terrors 6, Stephen Jones & David Sutton, eds. (Gollancz)
  • The Darker Side, John Pelan, ed. (Roc)
  • Keep Out the Night, Stephen Jones, ed. (PS Publishing)
  • Queer Fear II, Michael Rowe, ed. (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • Algernon Blackwood: An Extraordinary Life, Mike Ashley (Carrol & Graf; Constable Robinson)
  • The Biology of Horror: Gothic Literature and Film, Jack Morgan (Southern Illinois University)
  • Clive Barker: The Dark Fantastic, Douglas E. Winter (HarperCollins)
  • Ramsey Campbell, Probably, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
  • Supernatural Fiction Writers: Contemporary Fantasy and Horror, Richard Bleiler (Scribner)
  • All Hallows
  • Cemetery Dance
  • F&SF
  • The Third Alternative
  • Weird Tales
  • ART
  • Clive Barker
  • Jeremy Caniglia
  • Edward Miller
  • J. K. Potter
  • Jason Van Hollander
  • FILM
  • Frailty (directed by Bill Paxton, written by Brent Hanley)
  • One Hour Photo (written and directed by Mark Romanek)
  • The Ring (directed Gore Verbinski, based on a novel by K˘ji Suzuki; Hiroshi Takahashi (1998 screenplay), Ehren Kruger (2002 screenplay))
  • Spirited Away (written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki; English version written by Cindy Davis Hewitt and Donald H. Hewitt)
  • Wendigo (written and directed by Larry Fessenden)
  • Angel (series, WB; created by David Greenwalt and Joss Whedon)
  • Buffy: The Vampire Slayer (series, UPN; created by Joss Whedon)
  • The Dead Zone (series, USA Network; created by Micheal Pillar and Shawn Pillar, based on a novel by Stephen King)
  • Rose Red (mini-series, ABC; directed by Craig R. Baxley, written by Stephen King)
  • Saint Sinner (SciFi Channel; directed by Joshua Butler, screenplay by Doris Egan and Hans Rodionoff, based on a short story by Clive Barker)
  • Six Feet Under (series, HBO; created by Alan Ball)
  • Nominations were derived from recommendations made by the public and the judges' knowledge of the field. Edward Bryant, Stefan R. Dziemianowicz, Bill Sheehan, and Hank Wagner adjudicate.

    This year's ballot adds an "intermediate form" category, making three categories for works of less than novel length, thus corresponding with the traditional novella/novelette/short story divides used for the Hugo and Nebula Awards.

    The Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards lists and indexes earlier IHG results.

    Earlier April News

    © 2003 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. | Subscribe to Locus Magazine | E-mail Locus | Privacy | Advertise