2018 Australian Shadows Awards Winners

Winners of the 2018 Australian Shadows Awards have been announced. The award is given by the Australian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) for “the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australasian within the calendar year.”

Best Novel

Best Short Fiction

Best Collected Work

Best Edited Work

Best Graphic Novel

Paul Haines Award for Long Fiction

Best Poetry

  • “Polarity”, Jay Caselberg (The Literary Hatchet 8-9/18)
  • “The Middle of the Night”, Rebecca Fraser (Breach #09)
  • “Your Mortician Knows”, Bee Nielsen (A Little Ray of Obsidian Black)
  • “Matinee”, Hester J. Rook (Chrome Baby 4/12/18)

There was no winner for the Rocky Wood Award for Non-Fiction and Criticism this year. Additionally, “The judges of the Graphic Novel category unanimously agreed on a winner” but did not provide a shortlist. Winners were announced June 8, 2019 during Continuum 15, held in Melbourne Australia.

For more information, see the AHWA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *