2022 HWA Lifetime Achievement and Service Awards

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) announced Elizabeth Massie, Nuzo Onoh, and John Saul as recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, given annually by the Board of Trustees to “individuals whose work has substantially influenced the horror and dark fantasy genres.”

Undertow Publications won the Specialty Press Award, given “to a publisher whose work has substantially influenced the horror and dark fantasy genres.”

The Richard Laymon President’s Award, “presented to a member who has served HWA in an exemplary manner and shown exceptional dedication to the organization,” will go to Meghan Arcuri. The winner is chosen by HWA’s sitting president.

Karen Lansdale is the winner of the Silver Hammer Award, presented “to an HWA volunteer who has done a truly massive amount of work for the organization, often unsung and behind the scenes” and chosen by HWA’s Board of Trustees.

David Jeffery is the winner of the Mentor of the Year Award. Introduced in 2014, the Award “recognizes one mentor in the Mentor Program who has done an outstanding job of helping newer writers” and is chosen by the current chair of the mentor program.

The 2022 Stoker Awards final ballot was previously announced. Winners will be honored at a gala during StokerCon 2023, to be held June 15-18, 2023 at the Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square in Pittsburgh PA. For more information, see the Stoker Awards website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *