2016 Locus Awards Winners

The Locus Science Fiction Foundation announced the winners of the 2016 Locus Awards on Saturday, June 25, 2016 during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle WA.

Science Fiction Novel

Fantasy Novel

Young Adult Book

First Novel


  • Penric’s Demon, Lois McMaster Bujold (self-published)
  • ‘‘The Citadel of Weeping Pearls’’, Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s 10-11/15)
  • ‘‘The Four Thousand, the Eight Hundred’’, Greg Egan (Asimov’s 12/15)
  • Binti, Nnedi Okorafor (Tor.com)


Short Story


  • Old Venus, George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, eds. (Bantam)



  • Asimov’s
  • Clarkesworld
  • F&SF
  • File 770
  • Tor.com


  • Tor
  • Baen
  • Gollancz
  • Orbit
  • Subterranean


  • David G. Hartwell
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Jonathan Strahan


  • Michael Whelan
  • Galen Dara
  • Julie Dillon
  • Bob Eggleton
  • John Picacio


Art Book


The Locus Awards are chosen by a survey of readers in an open online poll that runs from February 1 to April 15. We welcome and invite everyone to vote in the poll. Our recommended list for 2015 can be found here.

Connie Willis was MC for the awards ceremony. Weekend events included author readings with Willis and Stephen Graham Jones; a kickoff Clarion West party honoring first week instructor Paul Park, Clarion West supporters, awards weekend ticket holders, and special guests; panels with leading authors; an autograph session with books available for sale courtesy of University Book Store; and a lunch banquet with the annual Hawai’ian shirt contest, all followed by a Locus party on Saturday night.

For more information about the Locus Awards please visit the 2016 Locus Awards Information Page.