2023 Future Worlds Prize Shortlist

The Future Worlds Prize for Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers of Colour has announced its eight-title shortlist:

  • “Firstborn of the Sun”, Michael Anson
  • “Dawn in Arborellum”, Ama Josephine Budge
  • “What the Crew Wants”, Mahmud El Sayed
  • “The Archer and the Oracle”, Anne Elicaño-Shields
  • “Light at Midnight”, Ali Mahdi
  • “The Taste of a Planet”, Arianne Maki
  • “The Breath of Silence”, Melanie Reynard
  • “Wisteria Chumleigh”, Calah Singleton

The judges are Syima Aslam, Aliette de Bodard, Nikita Gill, and Esmie Jikiemi-Pearson. The winner will receive £4,000, one runner-up £2,000, and the remaining six receive £800. All those shortlisted will receive mentoring from the prize’s publishing partners. The award is funded by author Ben Aaronovitch and actor Adjoa Andoh.

For more information, see the prize’s website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *