2021 Ditmar Awards Winners

The winners of the 2021 Ditmar Awards for Australian SF were announced November 20, 2021 in an online ceremony.

Best Novel

Best Novella or Novelette

  • WINNER: Flyaway, Kathleen Jennings (Pan Macmillan Australia; Tordotcom)

Best Short Story

  • WINNER: “The Calenture”, Kaaron Warren (Of Gods and Globes 2)

Best Collected Work

Best Artwork

  • WINNER: Kathleen Jennings for illustrations in Mother Thorn and other tales of courage and kindness (Serenity)

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • WINNER: The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe
  • Pratchat, Elizabeth Flux & Ben McKenzie (Splendid Chaps)
  • Ethel the Aardvark, LynC (Melbourne Science Fiction Club)
  • The AntipodeanSF Radio Show, Ion Newcombe

Best Fan Writer

  • WINNER: Bruce Gillespie for writing in SF Commentary
  • LynC for writing in Ethel the Aardvark

Best Fan Artist

  • WINNER: Lyss Wickramasinghe for fanart on Tumblr including Elsie, Hold On, The Gem and the Other, and Vesuvia Pride

Best New Talent

  • WINNER: Nikky Lee

William Atheling, Jr. Award for Criticism or Review

  • WINNER: Terry Frost for reviews in Terry Talks Movies
  • Kathleen Jennings for “Contracts and Calcifer, or ‘In Which A Contract Is Concluded Before Witnesses’: the transactional structure of Howl’s Moving Castle”, The Proceedings of the Diana Wynne Jones Conference, Bristol 2019 [paper published 2020]
  • Grant Watson for reviews in FictionMachine

Some categories had more than five nominees due to ties, and some had fewer due to insufficient nominations.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *