2014 Prometheus Awards Winners

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the winners for the Prometheus Best Novel Award for pro-freedom works published in 2013 and the Hall of Fame Award for best classic fiction, as well as two Special Awards.

Best Novel Award: 

  • Tie: Homeland, Cory Doctorow (Tor) & Nexus, Ramez Naam (Angry Robot)
  •  A Few Good Men, Sarah Hoyt (Baen)
  • Crux, Ramez Naam (Angry Robot)
  • Brilliance, Marcus Sakey (Thomas & Mercer)

Hall of Fame Award:

  • Falling Free, Lois McMaster Bujold (1988)
  • “Sam Hall”, Poul Anderson (1953)
  • “‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman”, Harlan Ellison (1965)
  • Courtship Rite, Donald M. Kingsbury (1982)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling (1912)

Author-filksinger Leslie Fish will receive a Special Prometheus Award in 2014 for the combination of her 2013 novella, “Tower of Horses” and her filk song, “The Horsetamer’s Daughter”.

In a separate awards ceremony, four-time-Prometheus-Award winning author Vernor Vinge will receive a Special Prometheus Lifetime Achievement Award to be presented during Conjecture/ConChord October 10-12, 2014 in San Diego, California.

The Prometheus Award will be presented in a ceremony during the 2014 World Science Fiction Convention, to be held in London England, August 14-18, 2014.