2019 Campbell and Sturgeon Awards Winners

Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller (Ecco) is this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award winner for the best science fiction novel published in 2018, and “When Robot and Crow Saved East St. Louis” by Annalee Newitz (Slate.com 12/18) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short fiction of 2018.

Other finalists were:

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “Freezing Rain, A Chance of Falling”, L.X. Beckett (F&SF 7-8/18)
  • The Only Harmless Great Thing, Brooke Bolander (Tor.com Publishing)
  • “The Secret Lives of the Nine Negro Teeth of George Washington”, Phenderson Djèlí Clark (Fireside 2/18)
  • “Umbernight”, Carolyn Ives Gilman (Clarkesworld 2/18)
  • “Nine Last Days on Planet Earth”, Daryl Gregory (Tor.com 9/19/18)
  • “When We Were Starless”, Simone Heller (Clarkesworld 10/18)
  • “The Starship and the Temple Cat”, Yoon Ha Lee (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 2/1/18)
  • Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach, Kelly Robson (Tor.com Publishing)
  • “On the Day You Spend Forever with Your Dog”, Adam Shannon (Apex 12/18)
  • “Yard Dog”, Tade Thompson (Fiyah Summer ’18)

The awards were presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held June 28-30, 2019 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence KS.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *