2016 Sunburst Awards Winners

Winners for the 2016 Sunburst Awards honoring “Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic” have been announced:


Young Adult:

  • Sight Unseen, David Carroll (Scholastic Canada)
  • The Unquiet, Mikaela Everett (HarperCollins)
  • The Nest, Kenneth Oppel (HarperCollins)
  • Boo, Neil Smith (Knopf)

Short Story:

  • “La Héron”, Charlotte Ashley (F&SF 3-4/15)
  • “The Glad Hosts”, Rebecca Campbell, (Lackington’s #7)
  • “Stuck in the Past”, Mike Donoghue (Abyss & Apex #54)
  • Two-Year Man”, Kelly Robson [Asimov’s, August 2015]
  • “Get the Message”, Peter Wendt (Second Contacts)

Winners receive a cash prize of $1,000 for the Adult and Young Adult categories and $500 for the Short Story category, as well as hand-crafted sunburst medallions. The jurors for the 2016 award were Timothy Anderson, Sylvie Bérard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule, and Myna Wallin. For more information, see the Sunburst Award Society.