2009 Prometheus Awards

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced that The Unincorporated Man by Dani & Eytan Kollin (Tor) is the winner of the 2009 Prometheus Award for Best Novel, and No Truce with Kings, by Poul Anderson, is the winner of the 2009 Hall of Fame Award.

Runners-up for the Best Novel award were Hidden Empire by Orson Scott Card (Tor); Makers by Cory Doctorow (Tor); Liberating Atlantis by Harry Turtledove (Roc); and The United States of Atlantis by Harry Turtledove (Roc).

The awards will be presented at Aussiecon 4, the 68th annual Worldcon, to be held September 2-6, 2010 in Melbourne, Australia. Each Kollin will receive a gold coin and plaque.

Poul Anderson’s novels have previously won the Prometheus Award (in 1995, for The Stars are also Fire), and the Hall of Fame Award (1995 for The Star Fox and 1985 for Trader to the Stars). Anderson also received a Special Award for lifetime achievement in 2001.