Prometheus Awards Announced

The Libertarian Futurist Society has released winners of this year’s Prometheus Awards in advance of the planned awards ceremony at Anticipation, the 67th World Science Fiction Convention, August 6-10, 2009, in Montréal, Quebec, Canada.

Winners and finalists are as follows:

  • Little Brother, Cory Doctorow (Tor)
  • Matter, Iain Banks (Orbit)
  • The January Dancer, Michael Flynn (Tor)
  • Saturn’s Children, Charles Stross (Tor)
  • Opening Atlantis, Harry Turtledove (Roc)
  • Half a Crown, Jo Walton (Tor)

    Twelve novels were nominated.


  • The Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Falling Free, Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Courtship Rite, Donald M. Kingsbury
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling
  • The Once and Future King, T.H. White
  • The Golden Age, John C. Wright
  • The Hall of Fame category includes works sometimes nominated year after year until they win; The Lord of the Rings has been nominated several times in the past.

    The Prometheus Awards were established in 1979. Winners receive a plaque and a one-ounce gold coin.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *