2019 Australian Shadows Awards Winners

Winners for the 2019 Australian Shadows Awards have been announced. The award is given by the Australian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) for “the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australasian within the calendar year.”

Best Novel

  • WINNER: Shepherd, Catherine Jinks (Text)

Best Short Fiction

  • WINNER: “Steadfast Shadowsong”, Matthew R. Davis (Dig Two Graves)

Best Collected Work

Best Edited Work

  • WINNER: Midnight Echo #14, Deborah Sheldon, ed. (Australasian Horror Writers Association)

Paul Haines Award for Long Fiction

Best Poetry

  • WINNER: “Taxonomy of Captured Roses”, Hester J. Rook (Kaleidotrope Autumn ’19)
  • “Separation”, Jay Caselberg (The Literary Hatchet #23)
  • “Please Do Not Feed the Animals”, Anne Casey (out of emptied cups)
  • “Ode to a Black Hole”, Charles Lovecraft (Spectral Realms Winter ’19)
  • “Brine and Vanishings”, Hester J. Rook (Liminality #21)
  • “Boat of a Million Years”, Kyla Lee Ward (The Macabre Modern and Other Morbidities)

Rocky Wood Award for Non-Fiction and Criticism

  • “Suffer the Little Children”, Kris Ashton (Aurealis #119)
  • “Horror and the paranormal”, Eugen Bacon (Writing Speculative Fiction)
  • “Horror Movies That Mean Something and Childhood Trauma Manifested”, Maria Lewis (flicks.com.au)

Best Graphic Novel

  • WINNER: DCeased, Tom Taylor & Trevor Hairsine (DC)
  • “Geebung Polo Club”, Jason Fischer & Shauna O’Meara (Skellington #1)
  • “Matinee”, Emmet O’Cuana & David Parsons (Something Wicked 2019)
  • The Eldritch Kid: The Bone War, Christian D. Read & Paul Mason (Gestalt)

For more information, see the AHWA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *