2022 Australian Shadows Awards Finalists

Finalists for the 2022 Australian Shadows Awards have been announced. The award is given by the Australian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) for “the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australasian within the calendar year.”


  • The Stone Road, Trent Jamieson (Erewhon)
  • Red Ruin, Ian J. Middleton & Denver Grenell (self-published)
  • The Path of Thorns, Angela Slatter (Titan)
  • Denizen, James McKenzie Watson (Viking)

Long Fiction

  • And Then I Woke Up, Malcolm Devlin (Tordotcom)
  • “Kookaburra Cruel”, Aaron Dries (Damnation Games)
  • “Among the Faded Woods”, Faith Mudge (The Art of Being Human)

Short Fiction

  • “Little Balloons”, Aaron Dries (Cut to Care: A Collection of LIttle Hurts)
  • “They Call Me Mother”, Geneve Flynn (Classic Monsters Unleashed)
  • “Break the Skin If You Have To”, Emma Osborne, Jess Essey & Cadwell Turnbull (Nightmare 12/22)
  • “The Tub”, J. Ashley Smith (Midnight Echo 17)

Collected Works

  • The Devil Took Her: Tales of Horror, Michael Botur (The Sager Group)
  • Cut to Care: A Collection of Little Hurts, Aaron Dries (IFWG Australia)
  • Hard Places, Kirstyn McDermott (Trepidatio)
  • Liminal Spaces: Horror Stories, Deborah Sheldon (IFWG Australia)
  • Reflections, Tabatha Wood (Wild Wood)

Edited Works

  • Midnight Echo 17, Greg Chapman (AHWA)
  • Found: An Anthology of Found Footage Horror Stories, Andrew Cull & Gabino Iglesias, eds. (Vermillion2One)
  • Death in the Mouth: An Anthology of Original Horror, People of Color, Cassie Hart & Sloane Leong, eds. (self-published)


  • “Hip Gnomes”, PS Cottier (AntipodeanSF 291)
  • “Night Terrors”, L.E. Daniels (HWA)
  • “How Does Your Garden Grow?”, Gene Flynn (Hybrid: Misfits, Monsters and Other Phenomena)
  • “If I Touch You, You’ll Know”, Rebecca Fraser (Nightmare Fuel 12/22)


  • “The Slow Burn Brilliance of Midnight Mass”, Kris Ashton (Aurealis 5/22)
  • “Vampire, the Ageless Monster”, Tim Hawken (Aurealis 149)
  • “I Don’t Read Horror (and other weird tales)”, Lee Murray (Interstellar Flight Magazine 10/22)
  • “No Horror Without the Body”, Tabatha Wood (self-published)

Graphic Novel

  • Batrisha and the Creepy Caretaker, Dillon Naylor (Comicoz)
  • How to Win a Raid, Emmet O’Cuana (Bird’s Eye)
  • Gorilla My Dreams Team-Up #1: When Freaks Collide, Big Tim Stiles (Big Tim’s Funny Books)

Winners will be announced in a ceremony at Asylumfest in Beechworth, Victoria, Australia on October 28, 2023. For more information, see the AHWA announcement.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *