The Old Drift Wins Clarke Award

The Old Drift by Namwali Serpell (Hogarth US & UK) won the 34th Arthur C. Clarke Award, announced online. Serpell receives a check for £2,020 and an engraved bookend.

Other finalists were:

The 2020 judges were Rhian Drinkwater, Stewart Hotston, Farah Mendlesohn, Chris Pak, and Alasdair Stuart, with Andrew M. Butler serving as the non-voting Chair of the Judges.

For more information, see the Clark Award website.

Serpell is donating the £2,020 prize money to the Louisville Community Bail Fund to help “protestors against Breonna Taylor’s state-sanctioned murder.”

[Edited 9/28/2020 to add announcement of Serpell donating prize money]

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *