2020 SFRA Awards

The Science Fiction Research Association (SFRA) has announced the 2020 winners of its annual research awards:

The SFRA Award for Lifetime Contributions to SF scholarship

  • Sherryl Vint

The SFRA Innovative Research Award

  • WINNER: “Triangulating the Dyad: Seen (Orciny) Unseen”, Susan Ang (Foundation #48)
  • Honorable Mention: “‘I Will Speak in Their Own Language’: Yugoslav Socialist Monuments and Science Fiction,” Raino Isto (Extrapolation 12/19)

Thomas D. Clareson award for distinguished service

  • Wu Yan

Mary Kay Bray award for best essay, interview, or extended review to appear in the SFRA Review (tie)

  • “Treknomics”,  Erin Horáková (SFRA Review 1-2/19)
  • “Gene Wolfe”,  Rich Horton (SFRA Review 1-2/19)

Student Paper Award for outstanding scholarly essay

  • WINNER: “‘Changing Landscapes’: Ecocritical Dystopianism in Contemporary Indigenous SF Literature”, Conrad Scott
  • Honorable Mention: “The Chow that Can Be Spoken Is Not the True Chow: Relationality and Estrangement in the Animal Gaze”, Erin Cheslow

Inaugural SFRA Book Award

Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies Book Prize

The awards, selected by a committee of SFRA members, are given in recognition of “members of the SF community who exhibit outstanding scholarship, pioneering viewpoints in the science fiction discourse, and lifetime contributions to SF research.” The 2020 SFRA Conference has been canceled. Winners have been posted online. “Full recognition, including remarks from the committee chairs and award winners, will appear in an upcoming issue of SFRA REVIEW.”

For more information, see the SFRA website.

[via File 770]

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *