Tolkien Society Awards 2020

Winners of the Tolkien Society Awards 2020 were announced at the society’s annual meeting (held this year online) on April 18, 2020. The awards “recognize excellence in the fields of Tolkien scholarship and fandom, highlight­ing our long-standing charitable objective to ‘seek to educate the public in, and promote research into, the life and works of”‘ J.R.R. Tolkien. The society’s trustees choose the shortlist, with winners chosen by the membership.

Best Artwork

  • WINNER: “The Professor”, Jenny Dolfen
  • “Isle of Peace / Mandos / Isle of the Dead”, Stefan Bleyl
  • “Great Gate at Minas Tirith”, Jay Johnstone
  • “Taniquetil”, Ted Nasmith

Best Article

  • WINNER: “Deconstructing Durin’s Day: Science, Scientific Fan Fiction, and the Fan-Scholar”, Kristine Larsen (Journal of Tolkien Research 2019)

Best Book

Best Online Content

Outstanding Contribution Award

  • Wayne G. Hammond & Christina Scull

For more, see the Tolkien Society website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *