RUSA 2020 Selections

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe selections for the 2020 Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) Reading List, Listen List, and Notable Books List were announced during the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, held January 24-28, 2020 at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia PA.

Reading List
The annual best-of reading list is selected by the Reading List Council. Shortlisted honor titles were also announced. Titles of genre interest include:

Science Fiction

Short List


Short List


Short List


Short List

Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey (Tor) was shortlisted in the Mystery category.

Winners were selected by the Reading List Council consisting of Craig Clark, Gloria Drake, Halle Eisenman, Matthew Galloway (chair), Andrea Gough, Marlene Harris, Sarah Jaffa, Jackie Kropp, Teresa May, Jo Schofield, Karin Suni, and Estella Terrazas. For a full list of winners and honor titles, see the RUSA website.

Listen List
The Listen List Council of the Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) selected 13 titles for outstanding audiobook narration. Selections of genre interest include:

  • Full Throttle, Joe Hill, read by Zachary Quinto, Wil Wheaton, Kate Mulgrew, Neil Gaiman, Ashleigh Cummings, Joe Hill, Laysla De Oliveira, Nate Corddry, Connor Jessup, Stephen Lang & George Guidall (HarperAudio)
  • Ghost Wall, Sarah Moss, read by Christine Hewitt (Macmillan)
  • We Cast a Shadow, Maurice Carlos Ruffin, read by Dion Graham (Books on Tape)

The Listen List was selected by a jury consisting of Ron Block, Katie Corrigan, Nanette Donohue, Sarah Hashimoto (chair), Sarah Hill, Danise Hoover, Lauren Kage, Christa Van Herreweghe. For the complete list of selected titles, see the RUSA website.

Notable Books List

The Notable Books List is an annual best-of list of books published in the US. Selections of genre interest include:

Winners were selected by the Notable Books Council consisting of Lillian Dabney, Lizzie Gall (chair), William Patrick Kelly, Edward Kownslar, Lynn Lobash, Eve A. Nyren, Jeanessa Smith, Stephen Sposato, Sarah Barbara Watstein, Hana Zittel, Mary Callaghan Zunt. For a complete list of winners, see the RUSA website.

The RUSA is a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *