2019 Rhysling Award Winners

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for SF, fantasy, and horror poetry in short and long form categories. This year’s winners are:


First Place
“After Her Brother Ripped the Heads from Her Paper Dolls”, Beth Cato (Mythic Delirium 1-3/18)

Second Place
“What Loves You”, Jeff Crandall (F&SF 9-10/18)

Third Place (tie)
“3D-Printed Brother”, Millie Ho (Strange Horizons 9/25/18)
“A City Built on Bones”, Ann K. Schwader (Abyss & Apex #66)


First Place
“Ursula Le Guin in the Underworld”, Sarah Tolmie (On Spec 4/18)

Second Place
“The Fairies in the Crawlspace”, Beth Cato (Uncanny 3-4/18)

Third Place
“3-Minute Future”, F.J. Bergmann (Unlikely Stories V)

Winners are chosen by the members of the SFPA and are regularly reprinted in the annual Nebula Awards anthology. For more information, see the SFPA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *