1944 Retro Hugo Awards Ballot

Finalists for the 1944 Retro Hugo Awards, honoring work from 1943, have been announced by Dublin 2019, the 77th Worldcon, to be held August 15-19, 2019 at the Convention Centre Dublin in Dublin Ireland. They counted 217 valid nominating ballots (214 electronic and three paper) from the members of Dublin 2019 and Worldcon 76. Ballot information for individual categories has not been released.

Best Novel

  • Das Glasperlenspiel [The Glass Bead Game], Hermann Hesse (Fretz & Wasmuth)
  • Conjure Wife, Fritz Leiber, Jr. (Unknown Worlds 4/43)
  • Gather, Darkness!, Fritz Leiber, Jr. (Astounding Science-Fiction 5/43-7/43)
  • Perelandra, C.S. Lewis (John Lane, The Bodley Head)
  • Earth’s Last Citadel, C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner (Argosy 4/43)
  • The Weapon Makers, A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/43-4/43)

Best Novella

  • “We Print the Truth”, Anthony Boucher (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/43)
  • “Attitude”, Hal Clement (Astounding Science-Fiction 9/43)
  • The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (Reynal & Hitchcock)
  • “The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath”, H.P. Lovecraft (Beyond the Wall of Sleep)
  • The Magic Bed-Knob; or, How to Become a Witch in Ten Easy Lessons, Mary Norton (Hyperion)
  • “Clash by Night”, Lawrence O’Donnell (C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction 3/43)

Best Novelette

  • “Citadel of Lost Ships”, Leigh Brackett (Planet Stories 3/43)
  • “The Halfling”, Leigh Brackett (Astonishing Stories 2/43)
  • “Thieves’ House”, Fritz Leiber, Jr. (Unknown Worlds 2/43)
  • “Mimsy Were the Borogoves”, Lewis Padgett (C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/43)
  • “The Proud Robot”, Lewis Padgett (Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction 10/43)
  • “Symbiotica”, Eric Frank Russell (Astounding Science-Fiction 10/43)

Best Short Story

  • “Death Sentence”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science Fiction 11/43)
  • “Yours Truly – Jack the Ripper”, Robert Bloch (Weird Tales 7/43)
  • “King of the Gray Spaces” (AKA “R is for Rocket”), Ray Bradbury (Famous Fantastic Mysteries 12/43)
  • “Exile”, Edmond Hamilton (Super Science Stories 5/43)
  • “Q.U.R.”, H.H. Holmes (Anthony Boucher) (Astounding Science-Fiction 3/43)
  • “Doorway into Time”, C.L. Moore (Famous Fantastic Mysteries 9/43)

Best Graphic Story

  • Plastic Man #1: “The Game of Death”, Jack Cole (Vital Publications)
  • Garth, Steve Dowling (Daily Mirror)
  • Le Secret de la Licorne [The Secret of the Unicorn], Hergé (Le Soir)
  • Wonder Woman #5: “Battle for Womanhood”, William Marsden & Harry G. Peter (DC Comics)
  • Buck Rogers: “Martians Invade Jupiter”, Philip Nowlan & Dick Calkins (National Newspaper Service)
  • Flash Gordon: “Fiery Desert of Mongo”, Alex Raymond (King Features Syndicate)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

  • Batman
  • Cabin in the Sky
  • A Guy Named Joe
  • Heaven Can Wait
  • Münchhausen
  • Phantom of the Opera

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • The Ape Man
  • Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman
  • Der Fuehrer’s Face
  • I Walked with a Zombie
  • The Seventh Victim
  • Super-Rabbit

Best Professional Editor, Short Form

  • John W. Campbell
  • Oscar J. Friend
  • Mary Gnaedinger
  • Dorothy McIlwraith
  • Raymond A. Palmer
  • Donald A. Wollheim

Best Professional Artist

  • Hannes Bok
  • Margaret Brundage
  • Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  • Virgil Finlay
  • J. Allen St. John
  • William Timmins

Best Fanzine

  • Fantasy News [disqualified]
  • Futurian War Digest
  • Guteto [added to ballot 7/21/2019]
  • The Phantagraph
  • Voice of the Imagi-Nation
  • YHOS
  • Le Zombie

Best Fan Writer

  • Forrest J Ackerman
  • Morojo (Myrtle Douglas)
  • Jack Speer
  • Wilson “Bob” Tucker
  • Art Widner
  • Donald A. Wollheim

The final ballot to select this year’s winners will open in April 2019, and will be open to all members of Dublin 2019. The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the convention Thursday evening, August 15, 2019.

[Edited 7/22/2019 to remove Fantasy News and add Guteto to the Best Fanzine category]

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

2 thoughts on “1944 Retro Hugo Awards Ballot

  • April 2, 2019 at 3:00 pm

    There is a typo for a finalist under “Best Novelette”:

    It should read: “Mimsy Were the Borogoves” not “…Borogroves.”

    Also, while credited to “Lewis Padgett,” nothing in my research has revealed a contribution to the story by C.L. Moore. I credit this story as a solo Kuttner effort, but eagerly seek proof to the contrary.

    • April 3, 2019 at 9:42 am

      Thanks, we’ve corrected the typo!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *