2018 Eisner Awards

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe 2018 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at Comic-Con International in San Diego on July 20, 2018. Winners of SF/F interest include:

Best Single Issue/One-Shot

Best Continuing Series

  • Monstress, Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda (Image)

Best Limited Series

  • Black Panther: World of Wakanda, Roxane Gay, Ta-Nehisi Coates & Alitha E. Martinez (Marvel)

Best New Series

  • Black Bolt, Saladin Ahmed & Christian Ward (Marvel)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17)

  • Monstress, Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda (Image)

Best Humor Publication

Best Anthology

Best Graphic Album—New

Best Graphic Album—Reprint

  • Boundless, Jillian Tamaki (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Adaptation from Another Medium

  • Kindred, Octavia Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy & John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books

Best Writer (tie)

Best Writer/Artist

Best Penciller/Inker

  • Mitch Gerads for Mister Miracle (DC)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)

  • Sana Takeda for Monstress (Image)

Best Cover Artist (for multiple covers)

  • Sana Takeda for Monstress (Image)

Best Coloring

Best Lettering

  • Stan Sakai for Usagi Yojimbo and Groo: Slay of the Gods (Dark Horse)

Best Academic/Scholarly Work

Best Publication Design

Best Digital Comic

Best Webcomic

Eisner Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Charles Addams
  • Karen Berger
  • Dave Gibbons
  • Carol Kalish
  • Jackie Ormes
  • Rumiko Takahashi

For more information, and the complete list of winners, see the Comic-Con website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *