2018 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award Shortlist

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe shortlist for the 2018 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award has been announced, including a few writers of genre interest.

  • “F.A.Q.s”, Allegra Goodman (The New Yorker 9/11/17)
  • “The Metal Bowl”, Miranda July (The New Yorker 9/4/17)
  • “Do-Over”, Curtis Sittenfeld (You Think It, I’ll Say It)

Co-founded in 2010 by EFG International Private Banking and The Sunday Times, “the prize is an international award that aims to promote and celebrate the excellence of the modern short story” and “is open to any novelist or short story writer from around the world who is published in the UK or Ireland.” The 2018 judges include Sebastian Faulks, Petina Gappah, Tessa Hadley, Andrew Holgate, and Mark Lawson.

The winning author will receive a £30,000 cash prize and five shortlisted authors will each receive £1,000. The winner will be announced on April 26, 2018 during a gala dinner at Stationers’ Hall in London UK. The shortlisted stories will be published on the award website, one a day, starting March 19, 2018.

Past winners of genre interest include Kevin Barry, Junot Diaz, Anthony Doerr, Adam Johnson, and Yiyun Li.

For more information, including a complete shortlist, see the official website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *