2017 British Fantasy Awards Shortlist

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe British Fantasy Society has announced the shortlist for the 2017 British Fantasy Awards. The nominees are:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • The Summer Goddess, Joanne Hall (Kristell Ink)
  • The High King’s Vengeance, Steven Poore (Kristell Ink)
  • The Tiger and the Wolf, Adrian Tchaikovsky (Pam Macmillan)
  • The Silver Tide, Jen Williams (Headline)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • The Searching Dead, Ramsey Campbell (PS)
  • The Hidden People, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher)
  • 13 Minutes, Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)
  • Disappearance at Devil’s Rock, Paul Tremblay (Titan)

Best Novella

  • Hammers on Bone, Cassandra Khaw (Tor.com Publishing)
  • The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle (Tor.com Publishing)
  • Bodies of Water, V.H. Leslie (Salt)
  • Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire (Tor.com Publishing)
  • The Grieving Stones, Gary McMahon (Horrific Tales)
  • Arrival of Missives, Aliya Whiteley (Unsung Stories)

Best Short Fiction

  • “Charmed Life”, Simon Avery (Something Remains)
  • “White Rabbit”, Georgina Bruce (Black Static 1-2/16)
  • “Greenteeth”, Gary Budden (Black Static 1-2/16)
  • “Waxy”, Camilla Grudova (Granta 136)
  • “The Watcher”, Sammy H.K. Smith (The Book of Angels)
  • “The Women’s Song”, Nadine West (Fight Like a Girl)

Best Collection

  • Sharp Ends, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
  • The Unheimlich Manoeuvre, Tracy Fahey (Boo Books)
  • Some Will Not Sleep, Adam Nevill (Ritual Limited)
  • A Tiding of Magpies, Peter Sutton (Kensington Gore Hammered Horror)
  • The Parts We Play, Stephen Volk (PS)
  • Secret Language, Neil Williamson (NewCon)

Best Anthology

  • Something Remains, Peter Coleborn & Pauline E. Dungate, eds. (Alchemy)
  • Fight Like a Girl, Joanne Hall & Roz Clarke, eds. (Kristell Ink)
  • Asian Monsters, Margrét Helgadóttir, ed. (Fox Spirit)
  • People of Colo(u)r Destroy Science Fiction, Nalo Hopkinson & Kristine Ong Muslim, eds. (Lightspeed)
  • The Starlit Wood, Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe, eds. (Saga)
  • Dead Letters, Conrad Williams, ed. (Titan)

Best Independent Press

  • Alchemy
  • Fox Spirit
  • Grimbold
  • NewCon
  • TTA

Best Non-Fiction

  • Blood Spectrum column, Gary Couzens (Black Static)
  • The Geek Feminist Revolution, Kameron Hurley (Tor)
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, Jim McLeod (gingernutsofhorror.com)
  • This Spectacular Darkness, Joel Lane (Tartarus)
  • The Women of Harry Potter series, Sarah Gailey (Tor.com)
  • Words Are My Matter: Writings about Life and Books, 2000-2016, Ursula K. Le Guin (Small Beer)

Best Magazine / Periodical

  • Black Static
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror
  • Interzone
  • Tor.com
  • Uncanny Magazine

Best Artist

  • Ben Baldwin
  • Evelinn Enoksen
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Daniele Serra

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

  • 2000AD (progs 1963-2011), Matt Smith, ed. (Rebellion)
  • Sixpack and Dogwelder: Hard Travelin’ Heroz (#1-5), Garth Ennis & Russ Braun (DC)
  • Skal (Chapter 3, pages 1-19), Jennie Gyllblad (skalsaga.tumblr.com)
  • Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! (#2-13), Kate Leth & Brittney Williams (Marvel)
  • Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda (Image)
  • Saga (#33-40), Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Film/Television Production

  • Arrival
  • Series three of Black Mirror
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Deadpool
  • High Rise

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • James Bennett, for Chasing Embers (Orbit)
  • Daniel Godfrey, for New Pompeii (Titan)
  • Erika L Satifka, for Stay Crazy (Apex)
  • Phil Sloman, for Becoming David (self-published)
  • Martin Owton, for Exile (Tickety Boo)

Winners will be chosen by jury, except for the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award), which is chosen by the BFS committee. Winners will be announced during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2017, held September 29 – October 1, 2017 at the Bull Hotel in Peterborough, England.