Díaz and Le Guin Named to the American Academy of Arts and Letters

Junot Díaz and Ursula K. Le Guin are among 14 individuals newly named to the American Academy of Arts and Letters, one of the most prestigious honors in the arts. New members are elected only after the death of existing members, with total membership limited to 250 people. New members will be welcomed at an annual induction and award ceremony in mid-May, where academy member Joyce Carol Oates will deliver the centennial Blashfield Foundation keynote address. An exhibition of art, architecture, books, and manuscripts by new members and recipients of awards will be on view in the galleries from May 18 to June 11, 2017.

Alongside the 14 new members are foreign honorary members Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Kaija Saariaho, and Zadie Smith.

For more, see the official announcement.