2016 NEA Fellowships Announced

Several authors of genre interest are recipients of 2016 Literature Fellowships awarded by The National Endowment for the Arts.

Diane Cook, Lucy Corin, and Aaron Their are among the writers who received grants of $25,000 each. The grants are meant to give “writers the time and space to create, revise, conduct research, and connect with readers.” A total of 37 grants were given, for a total $925,000. Writing fellowships alternate between poetry and prose writers on a yearly basis.

The NEA was established by Congress in 1965 as an “independent federal agency whose funding and support gives Americans the opportunity to participate in the arts, exercise their imaginations, and develop their creative capacities.”

Excerpts from this year’s winners can be found at the NEA’s Writers’ Corner. The application deadline for next year’s creative writing fellowships (for poetry) is March 8, 2017. For more information, see the announcement on the NEA website.