Whitehead Wins NBA

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday) won the National Book Award in the Fiction category, presented at a ceremony in New York on November 16, 2016.

Sweet Lamb of Heaven by Lydia Millet (Norton) was longlisted in the Fiction category, and Thomas Pierce, author of Hall of Small Mammals (Riverhead), was a “5 Under 35” honoree.

Each National Book Award finalist receives $1,000, a medal, and a citation. The winner receives $10,000 and a bronze sculpture. 5 Under 35 honorees also receive a $1,000 prize. For more, including the complete lists of finalists, see the National Book Award site.