2016 Ditmar and Other Australian Awards (Corrected)

The winners of the 2016 Ditmar Awards for excellence in Australian SF have been announced, along with some other Australian awards.

Best Novel

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “The Cherry Crow Children of Haverny Wood”, Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “The Miseducation of Mara Lys”, Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “The Wages of Honey”, Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “Fake Geek Girl”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Review of Australian Fiction Volume 14, Issue 4)
  • “Hot Rods”, Cat Sparks (Lightspeed 3/15)

Best Short Story

  • “A Hedge of Yellow Roses”, Kathleen Jennings (Hear Me Roar)

Best Collected Work

Best Artwork

  • Shaun Tan for illustrations in The Singing Bone (Allen & Unwin)
  • Rovina Cai for the illustration of “Tom, Thom” (Tor.com)
  • Kathleen Jennings for the cover of Bloodlines (Ticonderoga )
  • Kathleen Jennings for the cover and internal artwork of Cranky Ladies of History (FableCroft)
  • Shauna O’Meara for the cover of The Never Never Land (Canberra Speculative Fiction Guild)

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • The Angriest, Grant Watson
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe
  • SF Commentary, Bruce Gillespie
  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond

Best Fan Writer

  • Grant Watson
  • Tsana Dolichva
  • Foz Meadows
  • Ian Mond
  • Alexandra Pierce
  • Katharine Stubbs

Best Fan Artist

  • Kathleen Jennings
  • Belinda Morris

Best New Talent

  • Rivqa Rafael
  • Liz Barr
  • T.R. Napper
  • DK Mok

William Atheling Jr. Award for Criticism or Review

  • The Reviewing New Who series, David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Tehani Wessely
  • The Squeeing over Supergirl series, David McDonald & Tehani Wessely
  • The Rereading the Empire Trilogy series, Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • “Sara Kingdom dies at the end”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Companion Piece)
  • “SF Women of the 20th Century”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Tansyrr.com)

Several other awards were also presented:

A. Bertram Chandler Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science Fiction

  • James (Jocko) Allen

Norma K. Hamming Award

Peter McNamara Achievement Award

  • Rowena Cory Daniells

The awards were presented on March 27, 2016 at Contact 2016, the Australian National SF Convention, in Brisbane Australia.

Update: 4/6/2016 – Corrections were noted for the Best Fan Publication and Best Artwork.