2014 British Fantasy Awards Winners

On September 7, 2014 at FantasyCon in York the British Fantasy Society announced winners for the 2014 British Fantasy Awards.

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

  • A Stranger in Olondria, Sofia Samatar (Small Beer)
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman (Headline)
  • Blood and Feathers: Rebellion, Lou Morgan (Solaris)
  • Between Two Thorns, Emma Newman (Angry Robot)
  • The Glass Republic, Tom Pollock (Jo Fletcher)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • The Shining Girls, Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)
  • NOS4R2, Joe Hill (Gollancz)
  • The Year of the Ladybird, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)
  • Path of Needles, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher)
  • House of Small Shadows, Adam Nevill (Pan)
  • Mayhem, Sarah Pinborough (Jo Fletcher)

Best Novella

  • Beauty, Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)
  • Spin, Nina Allan (TTA Press)
  • “Vivian Guppy and the Brighton Belle”, Nina Allan (Rustblind and Silverbright)
  • Dogs With Their Eyes Shut, Paul Meloy (PS Publishing)
  • Whitstable, Stephen Volk (Spectral)

Best Short Story

  • “Signs of the Times”, Carole Johnstone (Black Static #33)
  • “Chalk”, Pat Cadigan (This Is Horror)
  • “Golden Apple”, Sophia McDougall (The Lowest Heaven)
  • “Death Walks En Pointe”, Thana Niveau (The Burning Circus)
  • “Family Business”, Adrian Tchaikovsky (The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic)
  • “Moonstruck”, Karin Tidbeck (Shadows & Tall Trees #5)
  • “The Fox”, Conrad Williams (This Is Horror)

Best Collection

  • Monsters in the Heart, Stephen Volk (Gray Friar)
  • North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud (Small Beer)
  • Holes for Faces, Ramsey Campbell (Dark Regions)
  • For Those Who Dream Monsters, Anna Taborska (Mortbury)

Best Anthology

  • End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver, ed. (Solaris)
  • The Tenth Black Book of Horror, Charles Black, ed. (Mortbury)
  • Fearie Tales, Stephen Jones, ed. (Jo Fletcher)
  • Rustblind and Silverbright, David Rix, ed. (Eibonvale)
  • Tales of Eve, Mhairi Simpson, ed. (Fox Spirit)

Best Small Press (the PS Publishing Independent Press Award)

  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)

Best Non-Fiction

  • Speculative Fiction 2012, Justin Landon & Jared Shurin, eds. (Jurassic London)
  • Fantasy Faction, Marc Aplin, ed.
  • Doors to Elsewhere, Mike Barrett (The Alchemy Press)
  • ‘‘We Have Always Fought: Challenging the Women, Cattle and Slaves Narrative’’, Kameron Hurley (A Dribble of Ink 5/20/13)
  • Gestalt Real-Time Reviews, D.F. Lewis

Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Clarkesworld, Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, & and Kate Baker, eds. (Wyrm)
  • Black Static, Andy Cox, ed. (TTA Press)
  • Interzone, Andy Cox, ed. (TTA Press)
  • Shadows & Tall Trees, Michael Kelly, ed. (Undertow)

Best Artist

  • Joey Hi-Fi
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Tula Lotay
  • Adam Oehlers
  • Daniele Serra

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Demeter, Becky Cloonan (Becky Cloonan)
  • The Unwritten, Mike Carey & Peter Gross (Vertigo)
  • Rachel Rising, Terry Moore (Abstract Studio)
  • Porcelain, Benjamin Read & Chris Wildgoose (Improper Books)
  • Saga, Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
  • Jennifer Wilde, Maura McHugh, Karen Mahoney & Stephen Downey (Atomic Diner Comics)

Best Film/Television Episode

  • Game of Thrones: ‘‘The Rains of Castamere’’
  • Gravity
  • Doctor Who: ‘‘The Day of the Doctor’’
  • Iron Man 3
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice (Orbit)
  • Francis Knight, for Fade to Black (Orbit)
  • Laura Lam, for Pantomime (Strange Chemistry)
  • Libby McGugan, for The Eidolon (Solaris)
  • Emma Newman, for Between Two Thorns (Angry Robot)
  • Samantha Shannon, for The Bone Season (Bloomsbury)

The British Fantasy Society Special Award (The Karl Edward Wagner Award)

  • Farah Mendlesohn

Winners were chosen by juries, and announced during the awards ceremony.