A.C. Crispin (1950-2013)

Author A.C. Crispin, 63, died September 6, 2013 of cancer.

Crispin created the Starbridge space opera series, starting with solo novel StarBridge (1989), and co-writing six additional books with authors including Kathleen O’Malley, Jannean Elliott, Deborah A. Marshall, T. Jackson King, and Ru Emerson. Crispin’s Storms of Destiny (2005) was meant to be the start of the Exiles of Bog’urain fantasy series.

She collaborated with Andre Norton on Witch World novel Gryphon’s Eyrie (1984), and was also known for her tie-in novels, including several well-regarded Star Trek books, the Han Solo Trilogy from Star Wars, and assorted film novelizations. She was named a grandmaster by the The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers in 2013.

Ann Carol Crispin was born April 5, 1950 in Stamford CT. She served as Eastern regional director and vice president of SFWA, and co-founded watchdog group Writer Beware with Victoria Strauss in 1998, warning authors about scam contests, unscrupulous publishers, and fraudulent literary agents.

On September 3, 2013 Crispin posted a note online announcing that her cancer had progressed and her condition was deteriorating. “I am doing the best I can to be positive but I probably don’t have an awful lot of time left. I want you all to know that I am receiving excellent care and am surrounded by family and friends.” She is survived by her husband, author Michael Capobianco.

For more, see her entry in the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction.

See the October issue of Locus for a complete obituary.