2012 Stoker Awards Winners

The 2012 Bram Stoker Awards have been announced.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Roc)
  • Bottled Abyss, Benjamin Kane Ethridge (Redrum Horror)
  • NightWhere, John Everson (Samhain)
  • The Haunted, Bentley Little (Signet)
  • Inheritance, Joe McKinney (Evil Jester)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Life Rage, L.L. Soares (Nightscape)
  • Charlotte Markham and the House of Darklings, Michael Boccacino (William Morrow)
  • Wide Open, Deborah Coates (Tor)
  • The Legend of the Pumpkin Thief, Charles Day (Noble YA)
  • A Requiem for Dead Flies, Peter Dudar (Nightscape)
  • Bad Glass, Richard Gropp (Del Rey)

Superior Achievement in a YA Novel

  • Flesh & Bone, Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster)
  • The Diviners, Libba Bray (Little Brown)
  • I Hunt Killers, Barry Lyga (Little Brown)
  • I Kissed A Ghoul, Michael McCarty (Noble Romance)
  • The Raven Boys, Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic)
  • A Bad Day for Voodoo, Jeff Strand (Sourcebooks)

Superior Achievement Long Fiction

  • The Blue Heron, Gene O’Neill (Dark Regions)
  • Thirty Miles South of Dry County, Kealan Patrick Burke (Delirium)
  • I’m Not Sam, Jack Ketchum and Lucky McKee (Sinister Grin)
  • Lost Girl of the Lake, Joe McKinney & Michael McCarty (Bad Moon)
  • The Fleshless Man, Norman Prentiss (Delirium)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “Magdala Amygdala”, Lucy Snyder (Dark Faith: Invocations)
  • “Surrounded by the Mutant Rain Forest”, Bruce Boston (Daily Science Fiction)
  • “Bury My Heart at Marvin Gardens”, Joe McKinney (Best of Dark Moon Digest)
  • “Righteous”, Weston Ochse (Psychos)
  • “Available Light”John Palisano (Lovecraft eZine, March 2012)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Shadow Show, Mort Castle & Sam Weller, eds. (HarperCollins)
  • Dark Tales of Lost Civilizations, Eric J. Guignard, ed. (Dark Moon)
  • Hell Comes to Hollywood, Eric Miller, ed. (Big Time)
  • Horror for Good: A Charitable Anthology, Mark C. Scioneaux, R.J. Cavender, & Robert S. Wilson, eds. (Cutting Block)
  • Slices of Flesh, Stan Swanson, ed. (Dark Moon)

Superior Achievement in a Collection (tie)

  • New Moon on the Water, Mort Castle (Dark Regions)
  • Black Dahlia and White Rose: Stories, Joyce Carol Oates (Ecco)
  • The Woman Who Married a Cloud: Collected Stories, Jonathan Carroll (Subterranean)
  • Errantry: Strange Stories, Elizabeth Hand (Small Beer)
  • The Janus Tree, Glen Hirshberg (Subterranean)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Trick or Treat: A History of Halloween, Lisa Morton (Reaktion)
  • Writing Darkness, Michael Collings (self-published)
  • The Annotated Sandman, Volume 1, Les Klinger (Vertigo)
  • The Undead and TheologyKim Paffenroth & John W. Morehead (Pickwick)
  • Dark Directions: Romero, Craven, Carpenter, and the Modern Horror Film, Kendall R. Phillips (Southern Illinois University Press)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Vampires, Zombies & Wanton Souls, Marge Simon (Elektrik Milk Bath)
  • Dark Duet, Linda Addison & Stephen M. Wilson (NECON eBooks)
  • Notes from the Shadow City, Bruce Boston and Gary William Crawford (Dark Regions)
  • A Verse to Horrors, Michael Collings (self-published)
  • Lovers & Killers, Mary A. Turzillo (Dark Regions)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times, Rocky Wood & Lisa Morton (McFarland)
  • The Sixth Gun Volume 3: Bound, Cullen Bunn (Oni Press)
  • Rachel Rising Vol. 1: The Shadow of Death, Terry Moore (Abstract Studio)
  • The Tale of Brin and Bent and Minno Marylebone, Ravi Thornton (Jonathan Cape)
  • Behind These Eyes, Peter J. Wacks & Guy Anthony De Marco (Villainous Press)

Clive Barker and Robert R. McCammon were the recipients of the Horror Writer’s Association Life Achievement Awards, as previously announced at Locus Online. Jerad Walters of Centipede Press won the Specialty Press Award, and the Silver Hammer Award, presented for outstanding service to HWA, went to Charles Day. The President’s Richard Laymon Service Award was given to James Chambers.

Winners were announced at the 26th annual Bram Stoker Awards Banquet held during the Bram Stoker Awards Weekend 2013 Incorporating World Horror Convention in New Orleans LA on June 15, 2013.