Campbell and Sturgeon Award Winners

Jack Glass: The Story of a Murderer by Adam Roberts (Gollancz) won this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel published in 2012, and Molly Gloss’s “The Grinnell Method” (Strange Horizons 9/3/12 & 9/10/12) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short fiction of 2012.

Any Day Now by Terry Bisson (Overlook) was the second place winner for the Campbell, and third place was a tie between Empty Space by M. John Harrison (Gollancz; Night Shade ’13) and Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson (Grove).

“Nahiiku West” by Linda Nagata (Analog 10/12) was the second place winner for the Sturgeon Award, and Eater of Bone by Robert Reed (PS) took third place.

The awards were presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held June 13-16, 2012 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Other finalists were as follows:

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

  • The Hydrogen Sonata, Iain M. Banks (Orbit)
  • Existence, David Brin (Tor)
  • The Rapture of the Nerds, Cory Doctorow & Charles Stross (Tor)
  • Intrusion, Ken MacLeod (Orbit)
  • Railsea, China Miéville (Del Rey)
  • The Fractal Prince, Hannu Rajaniemi (Gollancz; Tor)
  • Blue Remembered Earth, Alastair Reynolds (Ace)
  • 2312, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
  • Slow Apocalypse, John Varley (Ace)

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “Things Greater Than Love”, Kate Bachus (Strange Horizons 3/19/12)
  • “Immersion”, Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld 6/12)
  • “Scattered Along the River of Heaven”, Aliette  de Bodard (Clarkesworld 1/12)
  • After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall, Nancy Kress (Taychon)
  • “The Weight of History, the Lightness of the Future”, Jay Lake (Subterranean Spring 2012)
  • “The Bookmaking Habits of Select Species”, Ken Liu (Lightspeed 8/12)
  • “Mono No Aware”, Ken Liu (The Future Is Japanese)
  • “The Peak of Eternal Light”, Bruce Sterling (Edge of Infinity)
  • “(To See the Other) Whole Against the Sky”, E. Catherine Tobler (Clarkesworld 11/12)