Carnegie Medal Longlist

The longlist for the 2013  Carnegie Medal, given annually to “the most outstanding book for children” published in the UK, has been announced. Works of genre interest on this year’s list include:

  • The True Tale of the Monster Billy Dean, David Almond (Puffin)
  • The Traitors, Tom Becker (Scholastic)
  • Kill All Enemies, Melvin Burgess (Puffin)
  • Scramasax, Kevin Crossley-Holland (Quercus)
  • Far Rockaway, Charlie Fletcher (Hodder Children’s)
  • The Double Shadow, Sally Gardner (Indigo)
  • Maggot Moon, Sally Gardner (Hot Key)
  • To Be A Cat, Matt Haig (Bodley Head)
  • A Face Like Glass, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan Children’s)
  • Unrest, Michelle Harrison (Simon & Schuster Children’s)
  • Seraphina, Rachel Hartman (Doubleday Children’s)
  • The Abominables, Eva Ibbotson (Marion Lloyd)
  • The Prince Who Walked With Lions, Elizabeth Laird (Macmillan Children’s)
  • In Darkness, Nick Lake  (Bloomsbury)
  • The Brides of Rollrock Island, Margo Lanagan (David Fickling)
  • Skulduggery Pleasant: Death Bringer, Derek Landy (HarperCollins Children’s)
  • The Apothecary, Maile Meloy (Andersen)
  • This Dark Endeavour, Kenneth Oppel (David Fickling)
  • Gods and Warriors, Michelle Paver (Puffin)
  • Black Arts: The Books of Pandemonium, Andrew Prentice & Jonathan Weil (David Fickling)
  • Mister Creecher, Chris Priestley (Bloomsbury)
  • This is Not Forgiveness, Celia Rees (Bloomsbury)
  • Goblins, Philip Reeve (Marion Lloyd)
  • Pendragon Legacy: Sword of Light, Katherine Roberts (Templar)
  • Midwinterblood, Marcus Sedwick (Indigo)
  • The Scorpio Races, Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic)
  • Code Name Verity, Elizabeth Wein (Electric Monkey)

Soonchild by Alexis Deacon (illustrator) and Russell Hoban (Walker Books) appears on the Kate Greenaway Medal longlist for best illustration, and is of genre interest as well.

The shortlists will be announced on March 19, 2013, and winners will be announced June 19, 2013 at a ceremony in London. The Carnegie and Greenaway Medals are awarded by the CILIP (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals). To be eligible for the 2013 awards, titles must have been first published in the UK between September 1, 2011 and August 31, 2012.

The full longlists and more information can be found on the CILIP website.