2012 Aurora Award Winners

Winners for the 2012 Aurora Awards, honoring the best SF/fantasy works by Canadians and landed immigrants, have been announced.

Best Novel

Best Short Story

Best Poem / Song

  • “A Good Catch”, Colleen Anderson (Polu Texni 4/11)
  • “Ode to the Mongolian Death Worm”, Sandra Kasturi (ChiZine 47)
  • “Skeleton Woman”, Heather Dale & Ben Deschamps (Fairytale)
  • “Zombie Bees of Winnipeg”, Carolyn Clink (ChiZine 47)

Best Graphic Novel

Best Related Work

  • On Spec (The Copper Pig Writers’ Society)

Best Artist (Professional and Amateur)

There were also awards in fan categories. The awards were presented on August 11, 2012 at the Aurora Awards Banquet in Calgary. All winners received trophies, and the best novel winner received a $500 cash prize from SF Canada, the National Association for Speculative Fiction Professionals. For more information, and the full list of winners, see the Aurora Awards website.