2011 Aurora Award Winners

Winners for the 2011 Prix Aurora Awards have been announced. The awards were presented on November 20, 2011 during Canvention 31. Winners received trophies and the Best Novel winner received a $500 cash prize from SF Canada, the National Association for Speculative Fiction Professionals.


Best English Novel

Best English Short Story

  • “The Burden of Fire”, Hayden Trenholm (Neo-Opsis #19)
  • “Destiny Lives in the Tattoo’s Needle”, Suzanne Church (Tesseracts Fourteen)
  • “The Envoy”, Al Onia (Warrior Wisewoman 3)
  • “Touch the Sky, They Say”, Matt Moore (AE: The Canadian Science Fiction Review, 11/10)
  • “Your Beating Heart”, M. G. Gillett (Rigor Amortis)

Best English Poem / Song

Best English Graphic Novel

Best English Related Work

Best Artist (Professional and Amateur)

  • Erik Mohr, cover art for ChiZine Publications
  • Lynne Taylor Fahnestalk, “Brekky” cover art (On Spec Fall)
  • Christina Molendyk, Girls of Geekdom Calendar for Argent Dawn Photography
  • Dan O’Driscoll, cover art for Stealing Home (Bundoran)
  • Aaron Paquette, “A New Season” cover art (On Spec Spring)

For more information, see the Aurora Awards website. French-language awards categories are administered by SFSF Boréal; more information at their website.