2011 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2011 Sturgeon Award have been announced:

  • “Mammoths of the Great Plains”, Eleanor Arnason (Mammoths of the Great Plains)
  • “Under the Moons of Venus”, Damien Broderick (Subterranean Spring ’10)
  • “The Maiden Flight of McAuley’s Bellerophon“, Elizabeth Hand (Stories)
  • “The Sultan of the Clouds”, Geoffrey A. Landis  (Asimov’s 9/10)
  • “Flower, Mercy, Needle, Chain”, Yoon Ha Lee (Lightspeed 9/10)
  • “Ghosts Doing the Orange Dance”, Paul Park  (F&SF 1-2/10)
  • “Dead Man’s Run”, Robert Reed  (F&SF 11-12/10)
  • “Troika”, Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines)
  • “A Letter from the Emperor”, Steve Rasnic Tem (Asimov’s 1/10)
  • “The Night Train”, Lavie Tidhar, (Strange Horizons 6/14/10)
  • “The Things”, Peter Watts (Clarkesworld 1/10)

The award will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, to be held July 7-10, 2011 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.