Terry Pratchett’s First Novel Prize Shortlist Announced

The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize shortlist has been announced:

  • Postponing Armageddon, Adele Abbott
  • The Platinum Ticket, Dave Beynon
  • Half Sick of Shadows, David Logan
  • Apocalypse Cow, Michael Logan
  • Lun, Andrew Salomon
  • The Coven at Callington, Shereen Vedam

The award, launched in 2010 by Sir Terry Pratchett and Transworld Publishers, is for an unpublished first novel “set on Earth, although it may be an Earth that might have been, or might yet be, one that has gone down a different leg of the famous trousers of time.”

The winning writer will be offered a £20,000 prize as an advance against royalties on a publishing contract with Transworld. At Transworld’s discretion, shortlisted novels may also be offered publishing deals.

Judges will be Sir Terry Pratchett; Tony Robinson; Michael Rowley of Waterstone’s; Marianne Velmans, Publishing Director of Doubleday; and Simon Taylor, Editorial Director at Transworld Publishers. Pratchett will announce the winner at a party to be held May 31, 2011.

Contest details are available at Sir Terry Pratchett’s official website.

One thought on “Terry Pratchett’s First Novel Prize Shortlist Announced

Comments are closed.