Dell Award 2010 Winner & Runners-up

Rick Wilber (administrator), Rachel Halpern, Rachel Sobel, Rebecca McNulty, Anthony Powers, Lara Donnelly, Miah Saunders, Asimov’s editor Sheila Williams.

The winner and runners-up of the 2010 Dell Awards for undergraduate excellence in science fiction and fantasy writing have been announced:

“The Dead Star, the Satirist, and the Soldier”, Rachel Sobel, University of Washington (Seattle)

First Runner-up
“Lilith”, Miah S. Saunders, High Point University

Second Runner-up
“Sister’s Hands”, Rebecca McNulty, The College of New Jersey

Third Runner-up
“Lucky Stiff”, Rachel Halpern, Grinnell College

Honorable Mention
“Family Ties”, Lara Donnelly, Wright State University
“Scales for Ivan”, Rebecca McNulty, The College of New Jersey
“Left”, Anthony Powers, Wright State University
“An Aureate Earth”, Eugenia Lily Yu, Princeton University

The Dell Magazine Award, formerly the Isaac Asimov award, was established by Asimov’s and the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts in 1994. The award goes to the best unpublished and unsold science fiction or fantasy short story submitted by a full-time undergraduate college student. The winner receives $500 and an invitation to the IAFA annual Conference on the Fantastic in Orlando, FL. The winning story is also considered for publication in Asimov’s online and print magazines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *