1943 Retro Hugo Awards Ballot

Finalists for the 1943 Retro Hugo Awards, honoring work from 1942, have been announced by Worldcon 76, to be held at the San Jose McEnery Convention Center in San Jose CA August 16-20, 2018. They counted 204 valid nominating ballots (192 electronic and 12 paper) from the members of Worldcon 75, Worldcon 76, and Dublin 2019. Ballot information for individual categories has not been released.

Best Novel

  • The Uninvited, Dorothy Macardle (Doubleday, Doran/S.J.R. Saunders)
  • Beyond This Horizon, Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction 4-5/42)
  • Donovan’s Brain, Curt Siodmak (Black Mask 9-11/42)
  • Second Stage Lensmen, E.E. “Doc” Smith (Astounding Science-Fiction 11/41-2/42)
  • Darkness and the Light, Olaf Stapledon (Methuen/S.J.R. Saunders)
  • Islandia, Austin Tappan Wright (Farrar & Rinehart)

Best Novella

  • “Hell is Forever”, Alfred Bester (Unknown Worlds 8/42)
  • “The Compleat Werewolf”, Anthony Boucher (Unknown Worlds 4/42)
  • “Nerves”, Lester del Rey (Astounding Science-Fiction 9/42)
  • “Waldo”, by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction 8/42)
  • “The Unpleasant Profession of Jonathan Hoag”, John Riverside (Robert A. Heinlein) (Unknown Worlds 10/42)
  • “Asylum”, by A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 5/42)

Best Novelette

  • “Bridle and Saddle”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction 6/42)
  • “Foundation”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction 5/42)
  • “The Star Mouse”, Fredric Brown (Planet Stories, Spring ’42)
  • “Goldfish Bowl”, Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction 3/42)
  • “There Shall Be Darkness”, C.L. Moore (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/42)
  • “The Weapon Shop”, A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/42)

Best Short Story

  • “Runaround”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction 3/42)
  • “Etaoin Shrdlu”, Fredric Brown (Unknown Worlds 2/42)
  • “Proof”, Hal Clement (Astounding Science-Fiction 6/42)
  • “The Sunken Land”, Fritz Leiber (Unknown Worlds 2/42)
  • “The Twonky”, C.L. Moore and Henry Kuttner (Astounding Science-Fiction 9/42)
  • “Mimic”, Martin Pearson (Donald A. Wollheim) (Astonishing Stories 12/42)

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • Bambi
  • Cat People
  • The Ghost of Frankenstein
  • I Married a Witch
  • Invisible Agent
  • Rudyard Kipling’s Jungle Book

Best Editor

  • John W. Campbell
  • Oscar J. Friend
  • Dorothy McIlwraith
  • Raymond A. Palmer
  • Malcolm Reiss
  • Donald A. Wollheim

 Best Professional Artist

  • Hannes Bok
  • Margaret Brundage
  • Edd Cartier
  • Virgil Finlay
  • Harold W. McCauley
  • Hubert Rogers

Best Fanzine

  • Futurian War Digest
  • Inspiration
  • The Phantagraph
  • Spaceways
  • Voice of the Imagi-Nation
  • Le Zombie

Best Fan Writer

  • Forrest J Ackerman
  • Jack Speer
  • Arthur Wilson ‘‘Bob’’ Tucker
  • Harry Warner, Jr.
  • Art Widner
  • Donald A. Wollheim

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *