2022 British Fantasy Awards Shortlist

The British Fantasy Society (BFS) has announced the shortlist for the 2022 British Fantasy Awards:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

Best Novella

Best Short Story

  • “Henrietta”, T.H. Dray (BFS Horizons)
  • “O2 Arena”, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Galaxy’s Edge 11/21)
  • “A Flight of Birds”, E.M. Faulds (Shoreline of Infinity 8/21)
  • “Sky Eyes”, Julie Travis (Dreamland: Other Stories)
  • “Bathymetry”, Lorraine Wilson (Strange Horizons 3/21)
  • “Fill the Thickened Lung with Breath”, C.A. Yates (Dreamland: Other Stories)

Best Collection

Best Anthology

Best Independent Press

  • Black Shuck
  • Luna
  • Unsung Stories
  • Wizard’s Tower

Best Non-Fiction

Best Magazine / Periodical

  • Anathema
  • Apex
  • Black Static
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror
  • Interzone
  • Shoreline of Infinity

Best Artist

  • Olga Beliaeva
  • Randy Broecker
  • Alison Buck
  • Jenni Coutts
  • Vincent Sammy
  • Daniele Serra

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

Best Audio

Best Film / Television Production

  • Candyman
  • Dune
  • In the Earth
  • Last Night in Soho
  • Space Sweepers
  • The Green Knight

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J Bounds Award)

  • J.T. Greathouse
  • Ian Green
  • Shelley Parker-Chan
  • Lorraine Wilson
  • C.A. Yates
  • Xiran Jay Zhao

Winners will be announced during FantasyCon, to be held September 17-18, 2022 at the Radisson Red Hotel and Conference Centre in Heathrow, UK. For more information, see the BFS website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *