Jack L. Chalker Young Writers’ Contest Winners

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS) has announced the winners of the 2022 Jack L. Chalker Young Writers’ Contest:

  • 1st Place: “Dispatch From A Dying Solar System”, Gwendolyn Taylor
  • 2nd Place: “Hamilton: Bronze Pioneer”, Roshan Rao
  • 3rd Place: “Just a Test”, Johan Shattuck

Honorable Mentions were given to “Rebelling Metal” by Camilla Florence Carrera, “He’ll Be Here for A While” by Vincent Reynolds, and “Water Day” by Allison Xu.

The prize is open to original science fiction and fantasy submissions by Maryland students “no younger than 14 and no older than 18 years of age.” First, second, and third prizes are $150, $100, and $50, respectively. To enter next year’s contest, see the official website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *