2019 Sir Julius Vogel Awards Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWinners for the 2019 Sir Julius Vogel Awards have been announced by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ). Winners were selected by members of SFFANZ and GeyserCon 2019, and honored at the convention, held May 31 – June 2, 2019 at the Holiday Inn Rotorua in Rotorua, New Zealand.

Best Novel

Best Youth Novel

Best Novella/Novelette

  • “Where the Sun Does Not Shine”, Paul Mannering (Hellhole)
  • Skin Deep, Violet Penrose (Griffon)
  • “The Glassblower’s Peace”, James Rowland (Aurealis 9/18)

Best Short Story

  • WINNER: “Girls Who do not Drown”, A.C. Buchanan (Apex 12/18)

Best Collected Work

  • WINNER: Te Korero Ahi Kā, Grace Bridges, Lee Murray & Aaron Compton, eds. (SpecFicNZ)

Best Professional Artwork

  • Cover for Te Korero Ahi Kā, Evelyn Doyle (SpecFicNZ)
  • Cover for Quest, Craig Phillips (Phantom Feather)
  • Cover for Capricious 1/18, Laya Rose

Best Professional Production/Publication

  • WINNER: Black Archive #15, John Toon (Obverse)
  • Breach #5-9
  • Info Text subtitles for Doctor Who: “Earthshock”
  • Writing from a Dark Place, Lee Murray (Victoria University Press)
  • New Orbit
  • Overgrown

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • WINNER: Wellington Paranormal
  • Mortal Engines

Best New Talent

  • WINNER: Kura Carpenter
  • Saf Davidson
  • M.W. Innes-Jones
  • Deborah Makarios
  • Fraser Newman
  • Anna Ryan

Best Fan Production/Publication

  • WINNER: Star Trek in the Park: The Trouble with Tribbles
  • The Future According to Mikey
  • Phoenixine

Best Fan Artwork

  • WINNER: “The Thirteenth Doctor”, Laya Rose

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *