SoA Awards Shortlists

Shortlists for several Society of Authors (SoA) fiction awards have been announced, including titles and authors of genre interest.

Betty Trask Prize and Awards

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards gives £26,250 “for a first novel by a writer under 35” and is judged this year by Ben Brooks, Elanor Dymott, and Vaseem Khan.

ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award

  • “Tiny and Pointed”, Claire Fuller
  • “The Kids”, Bruce Meyer

The Tom-Gallon award gives £1,575 “for a short story by a writer who has had at least one short story accepted for publication” and is judged this year by Stuart Evers and Irenosen Okojie.

Paul Torday Memorial Prize

The Paul Torday prize gives “£1,000 plus a set of the collected works of British writer Paul Torday” to a debut novel by an author over the age of 60. Judges this year are Mark Lawson, Kate Mosse, and Anita Sethi.

Winners will be honored on June 17, 2019 during the Society of Authors’ Awards and Summer Party at Southwark Cathedral in London, UK. For more information, see the Society of Authors website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *