2019 Tomorrow Prize and Roswell Award Finalists

Finalists for the Tomorrow Prize and Roswell Award for short science fiction have been announced. The five finalists for each, and winners of two special awards, will have their stories read by celebrity guests during LitFest Pasadena.

The finalists for the Tomorrow Prize for short science fiction by LA county high school students are

  • “Wick of Adolescence”, Nicholas Kouchnerov
  • “The Song Remains the Same”, Arin Krausz
  • “Guardian Angel”, Ailun Shi
  • “Gone Now & Forever”, Avi Strok
  • “Night”, Megan Vidovich

Desiree Eshraghi, Yvonne Kuo, Jaide Lin, Ksenia Pylnev, Ailun Shi, Chloe Silver, Veronica Stanek, and Antonio Torres received honorable mentions. Finalist judges were Jennifer Driscoll, Bobak Ferdowsi, Tamara Krinsky, Nicholas Meyer, Mike Mongo, Jasika Nicole, and Lilliam Rivera.

“Waste Land Awakening” by Molly Hill won the special Green Feather Award, presented by Los Angeles Audubon to “an outstanding science fiction short story by a teen author that centers on overcoming today’s environmental challenges.” Judges were Jane Beseda, Alice Hsieh, Michael Lawson, and Arely Mendia.

The Tomorrow Prize Readings & Awards will take place during LitFest Pasadena on May 19, 2019 in Pasadena CA.

The finalists for the Roswell Award for short science fiction by adults are

  • “LensWipe”, Eliana Carmona
  • “The World Ends”, Sam Draper
  • “The Curious Story of Frank”, Boris Glikman
  • “The Sovereignty of All Things”, Audrey Hollis
  • “His Memory”, Donovan Soto

Raluca Balasa, Julie Borden, Rachel Cochran, Emily Fluke, and Calvin Spears received honorable mentions. Finalist judges were Tananarive Due, Rose Eveleth, Brian Evenson, Ben Loory, and Sherri Smith.

“Dirge in D Minor” by Jennifer Delozier won the special Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award, presented by Artemis Journal and the Hollywood Chapter of the National Organization for Women (Hollywood NOW) to “a science fiction story that embraces feminist themes and has a strong female protagonist.” Judges were John Erickson, Karen Eyres, Cassandra Lane, Heather Lyons, Zoe Nicholson, Kate Sanchez, Elizabeth Wong, and Cherise Yanit-Nadal.

The Roswell Award Readings & Awards will take place during LitFest Pasadena on May 18, 2019 in Pasadena CA.

For more information, see the LitFest Pasadena website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *