2019 Ditmar Award Preliminary Ballot

The 2019 Ditmar Award preliminary ballot for Australian SF has been announced:

Best Novel

Best Novella or Novelette

Best Short Story

Best Collected Work

Best Artwork

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • Earl Grey Editing, Elizabeth Fitzgerald
  • Pratchat, Elizabeth Flux & Ben McKenzie
  • SF Commentary, Bruce Gillespie
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce & Tansy Rayner Roberts

Best Fan Writer

  • Liz Barr
  • Bruce Gillespie

Best New Talent

  • Elizabeth Fitzgerald
  • Sam Hawke
  • Bren MacDibble (AKA Cally Black)
  • Leife Shallcross

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • Consciousness and Science Fiction, Damien Broderick (Springer)
  • Pscience Fiction, Damien Broderick (McFarland)
  • Gentlewomen of the Press, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Sheep Might Fly)
  • “The 21st Century Catastrophe: Hyper-capitalism and Severe Climate Change in Science Fiction”, Cat Sparks

There were insufficient nominations for the Fan Artist category. The forthcoming final ballot may differ from the preliminary ballot. Winners will be announced at the 2019 Australian National SF Convention (Continuum 15) to be held June 7-10, 2019 at the Jasper Hotel in Melbourne, Australia.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *