The New Academy Prize Shortlist

The four-person shortlist for The New Academy Prize in Literature includes three authors of genre interest: Maryse Condé, Neil Gaiman, and Haruki Murakami. (Vietnamese-Canadian author Kim Thúy is the fourth.) The prize was founded by Swedish journalist Alexandra Pascalidou with the intent of providing an international literature award since the 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature is not being awarded. The New Academy plans to dissolve in December 2018.

The winner will be chosen by an expert jury and announced on October 12, 2018. The one million kronor (around $112,000) prize will be presented at a formal event on December 9, 2018. The jury consists of Lisbeth Larsson, Ann Pålsson (president of the jury), Gunilla Sandin, and Peter Stenson.

For more information, including a complete list of finalists, see their official website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *