2014 Eisner Award Winners

The 2014 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at Comic-Con International in San Diego, July 25, 2014. Winners of SF/F interest include:

Best Continuing Series:

  • Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)

Best New Series:

  • Sex Criminals, Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky (Image)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17):

  • Battling Boy, Paul Pope (First Second)

Best Humor Publication:

  • Vader’s Little Princess, Jeffrey Brown (Chronicle)

Best Anthology:

  • Dark Horse Presents, edited by Mike Richardson (Dark Horse)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint:

  • RASL, Jeff Smith (Cartoon Books)

Best Writer:

  • Brian K. Vaughan, Saga (Image)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team:

  • Sean Murphy, The Wake (Vertigo)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art):

  • Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)

Hall of Fame:

  • Orrin C. Evans, Irwin Hasen, Hayao Miyazaki, Sheldon Moldoff, Alan Moore, Bernie Wrightson

Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing:

  • Robert Kanigher, Bill Mantlo, Jack Mendelsohn

For more information, and the complete list of winners, see SF Site.