2011 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the 2011 Mythopoeic Award Finalists. Winners will be announced at Mythcon 42, to be held July 15-18, 2011, in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature:

  • Under Heaven, Guy Gavriel Kay (Roc)
  • Redemption in Indigo, Karen Lord (Small Beer Press)
  • The Bards of Bone Plain, Patricia A. McKillip (Ace)
  • A Cup of Normal, Devon Monk (Fairwood Press)
  • Troubled Waters, Sharon Shinn (Ace)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature:

  • Incarceron and Sapphique, Catherine Fisher (Dial)
  • I Shall Wear Midnight, Terry Pratchett (HarperCollins)
  • The Grimm Legacy, Polly Shulman (Putnam Juvenile)
  • Toads and Diamonds, Heather Tomlinson (Henry Holt)
  • The Queen’s Thief series: The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, Megan Whalen Turner (Greenwillow)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies:

  • Middle-earth Minstrel: Essays on Music in Tolkien, Bradford Lee Eden, ed.  (McFarland, 2010)
  • Tolkien on Fairy-stories: Expanded Edition, with Commentary and Notes, Verlyn Flieger & Douglas A. Anderson, eds. (HarperCollins, 2008)
  • Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion, Douglas Charles Kane (Lehigh Univ. Press, 2009)
  • The Power of Tolkien’s Prose: Middle-earth’s Magical Style, Steve Walker (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009)
  • Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis, Michael Ward (Oxford University Press, 2008)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies:

  • Out of my Bone: The Letters of Joy Davidman, Don W. King, ed. (Eerdmans, 2009)
  • Cheek by Jowl, Ursula K. Le Guin (Aqueduct, 2009)
  • Rhetorics of Fantasy, Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan University Press, 2008)
  • Metamorphoses of the Werewolf: A Literary Study from Antiquity through the Renaissance, Leslie A. Sconduto (McFarland, 2008)
  • The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale, Caroline Sumpter (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008)

One thought on “2011 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists

Comments are closed.