2010 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the 2010 Mythopoeic Award Finalists. Winners will be announced at Mythcon 41, to be held July 9-12 2010, in Dallas, Texas.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature:
Trickster’s Game Trilogy: Heartwood, Bloodstone, and Foxfire, Barbara Campbell (DAW)
Cloud & Ashes: Three Winter’s Tales, Greer Gilman (Small Beer)
Avilion, Robert Holdstock (Gollancz)
Palimpsest, Catherynne M. Valente (Bantam Spectra)
Lifelode, Jo Walton (NESFA)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature:
The Hotel Under the Sand, Kage Baker (Tachyon)
Books of Bayern: The Goose Girl, Enna Burning, River Secrets, and Forest Born, Shannon Hale (Bloomsbury)
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, Grace Lin (Little, Brown)
Ash, Malinda Lo (Little, Brown)
Eyes Like Stars, Lisa Mantchev (Feiwel & Friends)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies:
Charles Williams: Alchemy and Integration, Gavin Ashenden (Kent State)
Tolkien, Race and Cultural History: From Fairies to Hobbits, Dimitra Fimi (Palgrave Macmillan)
Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion, Douglas Charles Kane (Lehigh University Press)
Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis, Michael Ward (Oxford)
The Evolution of Tolkien’s Mythology: A Study of the History of Middle-earth, Elizabeth A. Whittingham (McFarland)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies:
Lilith in a New Light: Essays on the George MacDonald Fantasy Novel, Lucas H. Harriman (McFarland)
Rhetorics of Fantasy, Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan University Press)
One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Lloyd Alexander, Madeleine L’Engle and Orson Scott Card, Marek Oziewicz (McFarland)
Metamorphoses of the Werewolf: A Literary Study from Antiquity Through the Renaissance, Leslie A. Sconduto (McFarland)
The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale, Caroline Sumpter (Palgrave Macmillan)