Sunburst Award 2009 Winners

The 2009 Sunburst Award winners have been announced:


  • The Gargoyle, Andrew Davidson (Random House Canada)
  • Night Child, Jes Battis (Ace)
  • The Alchemist’s Code, Dave Duncan (Ace)
  • Things Go Flying, Shari Lapeña (Brindle & Glass)
  • Half a Crown, Jo Walton (Tor)

Young Adult:

  • Little Brother, Cory Doctorow (Tor)
  • The Summoning, Kelley Armstrong (Doubleday Canada)
  • Dingo, Charles de Lint (Viking)
  • Wild Talent: A Novel of the Supernatural, Eileen Kernaghan (Thistledown Press)
  • Night Runner, Max Turner (HarperTrophy)

The Sunburst Award is presented annually to a Canadian writer who has published a speculative fiction novel or book-length collection during the previous calendar year. Winners each receive a cash prize of $1,000 and a hand-crafted medallion with a sunburst logo designed by Marcel Gagné. The Sunburst is named after the novel by Phyllis Gotlieb (1926-2009), one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction. This year’s jurors were Barbara Berson, John Dupuis, Ed Greenwood, Sandra Kasturi, and Simon Rose.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *